Trying to Learn Japanese

While I was on my hiatus, I decided that I wanted to learn Japanese. I think the language is interesting and I wanted to expand my horizons. Have any of my readers wanted to learn Japanese too? If any of you guys are actually Japanese or can speak Japanese, I would love it if you commented down below any advice or thoughts you have.

 

I  listed some websites, apps, and videos on YouTube I used to start my language journey.

Websites:

Tofugu

This was the first website I used to start learning Japanese. It was extremely helpful. I used it to learn hiragana and katakana. This website gives useful hints and memory tricks to remember the complicated Japanese alphabets.

Tae Kim’s Guide to Learning Japanese

Basically an online grammar textbook

Apps:

Memrise

Drops

Youtube Videos:

-Heba 

2 thoughts on “Trying to Learn Japanese

Add yours

  1. I am Japanese and I skimmed through the websites you listed, and as you suggested, I found Tofugu was extremely helpful. The step by step, detailed explanations are really easy to follow and perfect to grasp the concept. English and Japanese are totally different (pronunciation, grammar…), so understanding the ‘sound’ of Japanese language and being able to read Hiragana, Kanji are extremely important.
    Speaking from my own experience of learning English (I’m still struggling though), getting basics down pat is very important. Then, you might want to proceed to actually listening/watching Japanese dramas or something. Hope it helps 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

