Review of The Iron King by Julie Kagawa 

Let me start off saying that I absolutely love Julie Kagawa’s books. I feel in love with the Blood of Eden series, so you guys should definitely read it. I just love anything Fae! With out further ado, let’s get on with this review!

“Meghan Chase has a secret destiny; one she could never have imagined.
Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan’s life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school or at home.
When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar, and her prankster best friend becomes strangely protective of her, Meghan senses that everything she’s known is about to change.
But she could never have guessed the truth – that she is the daughter of a mythical faery king and is a pawn in a deadly war. Now Meghan will learn just how far she’ll go to save someone she cares about, to stop a mysterious evil, no faery creature dare face; and to find love with a young prince who might rather see her dead than let her touch his icy heart.”

Isn’t it so interesting!? The synopsis, I think, was the thing that really pulled me to this book. My favorite character would have to be Puck, he’s hilarious and just perfect to me.

In this book, it has some interesting twists on the usual Fae lore. Since any reader who loves Fae lore knows the damage iron can do to the Fae, bringing metal and technology into the NeverNever is frightening. It flies in the face of everything we’re accustomed to, yet it seems logical. Dreams of science, whimsies of technology–it only makes sense that these notions should have power too, and it creates a nice combination between magic and logic. I love the romance in this book, even if at times it was frustrating. I had some good laughs in this book and I would definitely re-read it. I give this book a 5 out of 5 stars. I included some quotes that I thought were funny, so check them out

Thanks for reading,

Xoxo Heba



Funny Quotes

Knock, knock!” he called in a high, singsong voice.

For a moment, silence. Then a thud and a crash, as if something heavy had been hurled at the door. “Go away!” snarled the voice from within.

“Ah, no. That’s not how the joke goes,” called Rob. “I say ‘knock, knock’, and you’re supposed to answer with ‘who’s there?'”

“Fuck off!”

Nope, that’s still wrong.” Robbie seemed unperturbed. I, however, was horrified at Ethan’s language, though I knew it wasn’t him. “Here,” continued Rob in an amiable voice, “I’ll go through the whole thing, so you’ll know how to answer next time.” He cleared his throat and pounded at the door again. “Knock, knock!” he bellowed. “Who’s there? Puck! Puck who? Puck, who will turn you into a squealing pig and stuff you in the oven if you don’t get out of our way!” And with that, he banged the door open


Hi, Princess. Sorry I’m late. Traffic was a bitch.” He winked at me, then shot a glance at the winter sidhe, standing in the doorway. “Hey, Shard.” He waved. “Nice place you’ve got here. I’ll have to remember it, so I can give it the special ‘Puck touch’.
Careful, human.” Grimalkin appeared on the corner of the stage, overshadowed by the dead chimera. “Do not lose your heart to a faery prince. It never ends well.”

Who asked you?” I glared at him. “And why do you always pop up when you’re not wanted? You got your payment. Why are you still following me?”

“You are amusing,” purred Grimalkin.
There was a soft chuckle beside me, and my heart stopped.
“So this is Oberon’s famous half-blood,” Ash mused as I whirled around. His eyes, cold and inhuman, glimmered with amusement. Up close, he was even more beautiful, with high cheekbones and dark tousled hair falling into his eyes. My traitor hands itched, longing to run my fingers through those bangs. Horrified, I clenched them in my lap, trying to concentrate on what Ash was saying. “And to think,” the prince continued, smiling, “I lost you that day in the forest and didn’t even know what I was chasing.”

I shrank back, eyeing Oberon and Queen Mab. They were deep in conversation and did not notice me. I didn’t want to interrupt them simply because a prince of the Unseelie Court was talking to me.

Besides, I was a faery princess now. Even if I didn’t quite believe it, Ash certainly did. I took a deep breath, raised my chin, and looked him straight in the eye.

“I warn you,” I said, pleased that my voice didn’t tremble, “that if you try anything, my father will remove your head and stick it to a plaque on his wall.”

He shrugged one lean shoulder. “There are worse things.” At my horrified look, he offered a faint, self-derogatory smile. “Don’t worry, princess, I won’t break the rules of Elysium. I have no intention of facing Mab’s wrath should I embarrass her. That’s not why I’m here.”

“Then what do you want?”

He bowed. “A dance.”

“What!” I stared at him in disbelief. “You tried to kill me!”

“Technically, I was trying to kill Puck. You just happened to be there. But yes, if I’d had the shot, I would have taken it.”

“Then why the hell would you think I’d dance with you?”

“That was then.” He regarded me blandly. “This is now. And it’s tradition in Elysium that a son and daughter of opposite territories dance with each other, to demonstrate the goodwill between the courts.”

“Well, it’s a stupid tradition.” I crossed my arms and glared. “And you can forget it. I am not going anywhere with you.”

He raised an eyebrow. “Would you insult my monarch, Queen Mab, by refusing? She would take it very personally, and blame Oberon for the offense. And Mab can hold a grudge for a very, very long time.”

Oh, damn. I was stuck.

11 thoughts on “Review of The Iron King by Julie Kagawa 

Add yours

  1. The Blood of Eden series was incredible! I mean, ZEKE!!!!! And ZEKE!!!!! And ZEKE!!!!! Okay, and Ally! (Is it with a y or ie? I always forget) So I got a copy of this book, but I didn’t ever end up reading it. I might have to borrow it again, now that I’ve read your review (by the way- it was great!), and those quotes. They were hilarious. I would have laughed, but I have the most awful sore throat! Isn’t that the worst, when you want to laugh but you can’t? Anyway, happy reading!
    -Amy

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m reading the series myself. So far, so good :). It’s indeed a little frustrating at times, but I’m getting through it. And I definitely agree, Puck is my favourite character as well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

